top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMacie Sherburne

The One Where She Made It To New Mexico

I got to the apartment in perfect timing, there was a huge storm that came through ABQ about an hour after settling. Like...power outage and sideways lightning kind of storm. The excitement of that was stronger than both my travel exhaustion and the 10 mg of melatonin I took. Plus, the sweatpants-stuffed pillow case didn't exactly make for the most plush sleeping experience.


Yesterday, I spent my time exploring the apartment complex, going on a Target haul, and resting. The skies are blue and temperature is just about as hot as it would be at UofSC, except no humidity or mosquitos! The apartment I am staying in is about two miles from main campus, so I'm dependent on findings rides or taking shuttles available to UNM students. The plus to this apartment, though, is how insanely nice it is. I have my own room & bathroom and share a kitchen area with three roommates, plus there is a gym, pool, mini theatre, and games.





My Spanish class starts on Monday, which I am able to take through the National Student Exchange program. This means that I can enroll at another university, pay UofSC tuition and get credit towards my major (Global Studies) from the class I take. It isn't typical for students to participate in a summer exchange, making me the only exchange student at UNM right now (🥲).


Today, I am hoping to find a shuttle to main campus and explore some more. :) If not, I am still looking forward to chilling at the apartment and laying out at the pool. Be well everyone!

7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page