top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMacie Sherburne

Reflection & a Note to: Any Interested NSE Student!

If you're browsing through this blog wondering if you should participate in National Exchange, keep reading! Well, in short, yes. Do it. But I did want to write a quick post about reflecting on my exchange experience and sharing how I feel about NSE in regards to my educational and college experience. :-)


So I did my National Student Exchange during the summer of 2021 at the University of New Mexico. I took one Spanish class (which was completely virtual) and lived in an off-campus apartment. The presence of COVID-19 and the less eventful university's summer schedule, in addition to being the only NSE student during the summer term, resulted in it being really difficult for me to socialize and meet new people. But, that just meant more time with myself and more flexibility to spend my free time however I wanted. It was honestly the most liberating experience for me. Navigating a new area (I had never been out west at all!), the public transportation system, and a new university system all on my own was extremely daunting, but also felt like an adventure out of a movie. So I guess my first point to push National Exchange is because it will challenge anyone to be more independent and step out of their comfort zone. And this growth of confidence and self-sufficiency will follow you anywhere in life, regardless of where you end up living and what career you have! It wasn't at all what I expected, especially with COVID having such a big impact, but it still was amazing and allowed for so much self-growth!


Attending another university is so much more than being in a new place with new people. Social events on campus and in the area will allow you to create relationships and grow in places outside of your comfort zone (home), which is such an amazing personal experience. I was able to grow in my confidence greatly by making a lifestyle away from everything I knew and was comforted by. I think you really learn a lot about yourself when you're away from the everyday commonalities, and being around new people in a new place allows anyone to tap into a new sense of identity to grow and just "be." And that's awesome.


I did also want to note that the NSE staff for both your home and host university will 100% ensure that you settle and find some sense of "home" once you have exchanged to the university. So while NSE may seem very daunting for social/culture/homesick reasons, I fully believe that NSE students are kept in good hands and have support behind them the entire time. It may seem silly to even think about prior to going exchange, but I felt like it was worth mentioning and the NSE support system was extremely helpful in aiding me in everything!


I would say that the hardest part about my entire NSE experience was the application. Not that I'm complaining, but just to make the point that the application shouldn't be the reason you don't go, because once it's over, it gets easier! I personally was extremely stressed during my NSE application and faced a lot of adaptations throughout it (in fact, UNM was probably my 5th choice), as did most other students. Looking back after my NSE experience, I would do it all over again and feel any stress that arises will be worth it in the end!


In summary, do it. Feel free to browse through my other blog posts (or my personal travel blog, where I share my study abroad experiences following NSE!). If you are considering NSE and want to ask any questions or hear more about the process, you can shoot me an email at maciesherburnecollege@gmail.com or a text at (828)748-0568. :) Be well!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page